January 2014 Challenges

January 2014 Challenges:

  • Take the stairs at my condo
    • I’m on the 3rd of 3 floors … and with it being winter, I’m wearing heavier foot ware and clothing.
  • No added sugar/candy
    • This one will be a toughie because candy is my downfall. I admit that I’ve become a “Lazy Vegan” because a LOT of candy is vegan but that does NOT mean it’s healthy, obviously!
  • No alcohol
    • Honestly, this one shouldn’t be hard because I live alone, don’t really go out much and I rarely have alcoholic beverages when I’m alone.
  • Maximum 4 take-out meals
    • I found I was buying groceries but getting take-out more often than not. And by ‘take-out’ I don’t mean McDonalds or Burger King … I would get food from a local Indian restaurant (Lachi) or the vegan restaurant (Wild Scallion) across the street from my office. So this meant I wouldn’t eat the groceries I bought … bad Shannon!

Unless other obligations/appointments have previously been made:

  • First 2 weeks of January
    • Sunday – rest day
    • Monday – 45 minutes of cardio
    • Tuesday – weights and 20 minutes of cardio
    • Wednesday – 45 minutes of cardio
    • Thursday – weights and 20 minutes of cardio
    • Friday – 45 minutes of cardio
    • Saturday – weights and 20 minutes of cardio
  • Second 2 weeks of January
    • Sunday – rest day
    • Monday – 50 minutes of cardio
    • Tuesday – weights and 20 minutes of cardio
    • Wednesday – 50 minutes of cardio
    • Thursday – weights and 20 minutes of cardio
    • Friday – 50 minutes of cardio
    • Saturday – weights and 20 minutes of cardio

Since my gym has the pool & hot tub, I think I may swim for my cardio on strength days and then have a hot tub to finish off the session.

To some (and to me, honestly) the above workout regimen maybe seem like a lot for the 1st month … but I can NOT sit back and do nothing any longer. I am turning 32 in February, weigh around 200 lbs and need to get happy inside & out!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “January 2014 Challenges

  1. fitfor365 says:

    Good luck with your goals, I just posted my goals for next year too.

Leave a Reply

