Merry Vegan Christmas

Merry Vegan Christmas

Merry Vegan Christmas!!!

Today is Christmas Eve and it is the first Christmas Eve in a LONG time that I have been at home alone (with my fur babies). Normally I spend Christmas Eve at my parent’s house so that I am there for Christmas morning.

This year we’re spending the holiday at my Grandpa’s place (Wayne’s Dad) (which is normal to go there after we do our own Christmas morning thing). However, Mom & Wayne (my stepdad who is truly my father and had been in my life since I was 4 years old) have decided to spend tonight through Boxing Day morning at Grandpa’s because it’s the first Christmas since Grandma passed away.

Joining us for dinner tomorrow at Grandpa’s will be Jimmy & Dawn. Jimmy is Wayne’s oldest friend – back from middle school. I consider Jimmy my big brother because even though he’s the same age as my parents, he has moved home to my parents’ house more times than I have! LOL … and Dawn is Jimmy’s girlfriend.

Mom left me her car so that I can drive up Christmas morning (I haven’t owned a vehicle in 11 ½ years). So tomorrow morning I will “sleep in” (until 6:30 am or 7:00 am if possible!), then pack everything up and drive up to Grandpa’s (about 35 minutes.)

Given that this is my first vegan Christmas, I have been doing a LOT of planning for my Christmas dinner because obviously I can’t (won’t) eat the turkey dinner that Mom is making for everyone else.

So today I did my prep work (took me 4 solid hours!):

  • Made Sweet ‘n’ Sour Sauce
  • Made Sweet ‘n’ Sour Bean Balls
    • I still have to cook/”fry” them at Grandpa’s
  • Made Spinach Artichoke Dip
    • I will bake this at Grandpa’s
  • Made Coconut Bacon
    • This will go with the Roasted Brussels Sprouts that I’ll oven-roast at Grandpa’s
  • Prepped Polenta Stuffing
    • Chopped onion, carrot, celery, etc.
    • I will put all the ingredients together and bake it at Grandpa’s
  • Made Mushroom Gravy
    • Just have to reheat at Grandpa’s
  • Made Lentil Loaf
    • I will have to bake this at Grandpa’s

Still tonight I am going to make another batch of Bailey’s Irish Cream so that I can have that when I arrive at Grandpa’s in the morning.

Tomorrow while Mom is making the traditional Christmas fare, I’ll assist with the oven-roasted asparagus … as well as finish making/baking my vegan Christmas fare. Not to mention I’m bringing the necessary ingredients to make Mom and me a vegan Eggs Benedict on Boxing Day morning! Mom will make regular Benny for Wayne and Grandpa, but she has very supportingly agreed to have my vegan version instead!

It’s been such a productive day!

I also spent some time visiting with my good friends Leila & Aaron, as well I stopped by to see my Auntie Corrie (Mom’s sister) and Grandma & Grandpa (Mom’s Mom & stepdad).

Wishing you all a very Merry Vegan Christmas and hope that you are surrounded by loving friends and family this holiday! And if you’re alone this Christmas, drop me a note and I’ll be sure to write back!

Last but not least, after Christmas has come and gone, I’ll be posting pictures (hopefully!) and recipes to my other blog: gonabevegan.wordpress.com

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

