Personal Meditation

Some people do yoga. Some people meditate.

I spend time with my green babies!

I have 32 house plants and 15 garden plants. I love the peace I get taking the time with my plants.

Just with human babies, I have a hard time picking my favourite!

I’ve got a Clivia plant that I got from my Mom 2 years ago when I bought my condo. It blooms every year around June/July and the flower (1 only) is amazing!

484465_10151986654825492_506561465_n

That year after blooming, my clivia plant started to show babies growing, too! I ended up with the Mom plant and 3 plantlings in the same pot. I did some research as to when and how to remove the babies. Last weekend I did the job and got my 3 babies cut away from the Mom and into their own pots.

I’ve also got this plant and I’m not sure of the name but the flowers it produces are also amazing!

IMG_2337

As for my garden plants, last year I tried tomatoes for the first time on my patio (it’s a glass-enclosed patio … so pretty much like a solarium!) and they did fantastic! I planted the 5 variety of seeds late so I had tomatoes growing and getting ripe until mid-November! At their peak, they were taller than me (5’6″)!!!

IMG_2757

I also bought some quite mature herb plants from the farmers market and had some great fresh herbs for the summer, but I neglected them in the fall and they have since passed on.

IMG_2852

Ok, back to this year’s garden variety!!!

Everything is started from seed:

  • Kale
  • Long English Cucumbers
  • Zucchini
  • Sugar Snap Peas
  • Beefsteak Tomatoes
  • Tumbling Yellow Tomatoes
  • Sweet Million Tomatoes
  • Basil
  • Dill
  • Parsley
  • Strawberries
  • Oregano
  • Mint
  • Chives
  • Carrots

Yup – I’m trying a LOT of things this year!

IMG_3855

The above picture represents Day 1.

IMG_3887

The above picture represents Day 8.

IMG_3896

The above picture represents Day 15.

I am absolutely ASTONISHED at how well these have grown!!! This year I used a little plastic “green house” container so that the seeds would take and grow … and grow they did! I just transplanted my kale, cucumber and zucchini today as they can’t grow much more with the lid on, but the other small produce still needs the lid. I probably could have transplanted the peas too, as they are getting tall … but I’ll give them another few days to a week.

IMG_3906

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

