Welcome Back

It has been 11 months since my last blog post. Where HAS the time gone!?

2015 brought many changes to my life.

In January, one of my besties had her 1st baby. Baby Thomas was 6 weeks premature, but relatively healthy. He remained in hospital for about 3 or 4 weeks. I finally got to meet him in May when I came down to visit.

In March, I got my shit together and was able to get my bookkeeping business started and off the ground. Many thanks go to my bestie for filtering work to me and helping me feel more confident with my skills. The business is slowly growing and I’ve recently secured my first client outside of the bestie-filtered-work … and it was mainly by word-of-mouth!

After my visit in May, I decided to apply for work in Vancouver so that I could be closer to baby Thomas and my bestie.

Things were not unpleasant at work, but I felt like I could use a change. I’d been with the same company for 7 1/2 years, and since I was originally hired for an 8-week term, I was starting to wonder if I’d fulfilled my duties.

Not really knowing what to expect, I kept my mind open for any interviews that might come up.

I interviewed with and accepted a position with a large accounting firm located in downtown Vancouver.

In a matter of 3 weeks, I had resigned from my job, sold my condo, rented an apartment in Vancouver and lined everything else up for the move. Luckily I have awesome parents and they helped me move (again)! August 8th I became a resident of Vancouver.

The apartment was small … like, shoebox small! It was maybe 300 square feet with the kitchen, bathroom and large closet. Unfortunately, after a very short time, I came to realize the shoebox studio was infested with fire ants! They were getting into my food (sealed containers!) and biting Baunzai. This was not cool … time to move!

October 24th I took possession and moved into my new apartment. It’s much better than the shoebox and best of all – NO ANTS!!!

I walk to and from work, 30 minutes each way. If it’s super shitty out (windy AND rainy), I will take a cab home for no more than $10. I don’t own a vehicle, so I don’t feel bad about cabbing home every now and again. However, if it’s only raining, or if it’s only windy – I’ll walk.

My other bestie had baby # 3 in November, sweet Emma! I will finally get to meet her on the 28th of this month!!!

Now it’s December 12th and I’ve just returned from my first Christmas party of the new accounting firm. As I stood there at the Commodore Ballroom, watching the HUNDREDS of people mingling, I felt alone. I’m used to Christmas parties with 20 people … not 500 – 1,000 people! I quickly realized I don’t have (m)any friends at my new job yet. I struggled to hold back tears and the overwhelming feeling of being lonely.

Look across the room and see a couple of co-workers that I’ve established relationships with! After making my way over to them, we had a nice loud chat and visit. Unfortunately, my feet were killing me from the shoes I was wearing, so I only stayed about 45 – 60 minutes before heading back home.

One thing I want to put out there, and have discussed with a few people, is my goal for getting healthy. Yes – it was said last year, too … but it didn’t happen.

I want to lose approximately 95 pounds before my 35th birthday in February 2017. That’s just over 14 months … 63 weeks … 1 1/2 pounds per week.

I plan to use this blog to be accountable. To journal my weight loss journey.

One of my plans is to restrict alcohol intake. I’m going on vacation to Jamaica in January for 1 week, so that week will be my  last week of drinking. This weekend I tried San Pellegrino with Cranberry Juice to see if it was something I could opt for when going out … yes, yes I can. I even decided to drink this tonight at the Christmas party instead of wine or other alcohol.

Christmas is probably THE hardest time to decide to become healthy. Let’s see … Christmas party tonight; work Thank You social 17th; friend gathering on 20th; apartment building social on 20th; work Team social on 21st; pizza with parents on 24th; Christmas on 25th; drinks with old strata council on 26th; Indian dinner with friends on 27th; lunch with other friends on 28th.

My family history has:

  • diabetes (I am already pre-diabetic)
  • high blood pressure (I used to have HBP)
  • alcoholism (I consider myself a functioning alcoholic)
  • obesity (I am absolutely obese)
  • cancer (Grandma: colon; Mom: breast)
  • heart disease (Dad: heart attack; Mom: cardiomyopathy)

So I need to get healthy. I need to take care of my body. I need to do everything I can possibly do to ensure I live the longest, healthiest, happiest life possible.

I want to thank you if you follow my blog. Thank you for joining me on this journey. Thank you for your support.

 

Leave a Reply

