Merry Christmas Eve

I hadn’t the best of sleeps last night … I was up from about 2:00 am – 3:30 am! Not sure if it was excitement to see my parents, or nerves that I’d sleep in past my alarm and miss my flight!

I headed out around 6:00 am and made my way to the airport. They recommend you arrive 90 minutes before a domestic flight, but being Christmas Eve, I aimed to be 2 hours early. Thank goodness because it took about an hour to check in, drop my baggage, get through security, and make it to the gate.

The weather in Vancouver was misty … in Penticton it was lightly snowing. Prior to boarding, they announced we may not be able to land in Penticton. If that was the case, we’d divert to Kelowna and be required to find our own way to Penticton (an hour drive in good weather).

Thankfully the pilot was positive and got us here safe & sound! My mom met me at the airport and we made our way to their house. I dropped my luggage and borrowed the car then headed out to visit my old office & coworkers. It was great to see them all and have a little catch up.

Mom and I picked up pizza from Mykonos (#26 with pepperoni) around 2:00 as they planned on closing early and they are the BEST pizza in town. We ate that and had a beer (Dunkel from Whistler Brewing – so good! It was chocolate orange flavoured!)

image

Afterwards, the three of us went for a walk around to check out the Christmas lights … also because I needed about 5,300 steps to make my 10k minimum. I figured we’d need to walk about 45 minutes and I think that’s about how long we were gone. I got my 10k vibration about a block from being back home.

Tomorrow is Christmas! Did it sneak up on anyone else!?

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

