This is a Diet … not a Lifestyle!

I’ve been a little MIA with posting to my blog. But I’m very much here!

I’ve been reading, from the beginning, the blog Reclaiming LIFE. It chronicles the journey that Christine endured to lose 100 pounds and maintain it for a decade. Her story was featured on our national news channel Global TV.

I started with her very first post. Her posts and stories are so real. So much speaks to me and I often find myself nodding along to the words that she has written. It helps seeing/reading about someone who has lost the amount of weight that I need to lose (almost). It’s inspirational.

I also sent a couple of FB messages to a childhood friend, with whom I’m still in touch, but not so much that we’ve hung out as adults, about how she’s reaching her goals.

She didn’t have nearly the amount of weight to lose as I, but those last 10 – 20 pounds are the hardest, and that is where she’s at.

She is achieving her goals by way of Isagenix. And she’s not the only person I know who has success with this product. I tried it way back in … maybe 2011 … and my body didn’t respond well to it. Not sure what exactly, but just not a good response.

I asked her what a “typical” day of food/exercise was and here is what she wrote:

“I’m doing Isagenix. So I wake up , have a shake , 100 cal snack, hike for 30 mins, shake, 100 cal snack.. 400-600 cal dinner”

She’s lost 30 pounds since November and I believe she’s on her last 16 … awesome!

I did a little research into the caloric content of the Isagenix shakes, and they appear to average about 240 calories.

Then I put together what I thought was manageable for me using Le-Vel Thrive capsules & shakes (I’ve stopped using the DFT because I didn’t notice they providing extra energy or mood boosters … I’m happy & awesome already!)

A typical day for me, for the past 2 weeks, has been:

  • Upon waking: 1 Thrive capsule
  • Breakfast: 1/2 Thrive shake with 8 oz water
  • Snack: 1 bag (snack size Ziploc) celery, 1 bag carrots, 1 babybel cheese
  • Lunch: 1 bag cucumber, 1 bag snap peas, 1 bag green beans, 3/4 cup (homemade) chicken salad
  • Snack: 1/2 Thrive shake with 8 oz water
  • Dinner: 1/4 cup grains (Tru Roots Sprouted Quinoa & Rice), 3/4 cup chicken, 1 tsp tamari OR 1/4 cup grains, 1/2 cup chicken, 2 tbsp black beans, 2 tbsp corn, 4 tsp homemade ranch dressing, 1 tsp sriracha
  • Snack as wanted: 2 cups Kernels popcorn OR pretzel crisps & hummus OR nice cream (simply frozen fruit pureed in the food processor with a bit of water – DELICIOUS!)
  • Water throughout the day: 10 – 12 cups on average
  • Exercise: 30 minute walk to work, 30 minute walk home … maybe 45 – 60 minute evening walk if so inclined!

Now … an average day is closer to 1,000 calories than 1,200 calories … but I’m not hungry for more. This has been really filling and manageable!

Not to mention the results!! Day 1 of trying this (July 10), I was 238.6 and as of this morning (after some over-indulgence of cider, mini donuts, and a smokie!) I was 230.6.

I’m down 8 pounds in 2 weeks! That’s great! But this is absolutely A DIET! This is NOT a lifestyle LOL

I go “home” a week tomorrow, so I plan on keeping this diet going for the next 8 days. Then I’ll ease up and enjoy my visits. Then I’m going back at it when I return.

After coming back, I have 2 1/2 weeks until my parents come to visit. I haven’t seen them since the end of March. So for those 2 1/2 weeks, I’ll diet again.

Everything in moderation, right? Just like yesterday … ciders, mini donuts, smokie WITH bun! LOL

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “This is a Diet … not a Lifestyle!

  1. Christine says:

    Thank you for reading through my blog and for your kind words. I just want to encourage you to keep on going. Even when you don’t feel like it. Just show up. Lace up your sneakers and start moving. Think of food as fuel for your active day. And above all else, believe in yourself and your goals. You got this!

Leave a Reply

