Blogmas – Day 3

BLOGMAS DAY 3

Happy Saturday!!

Getting in late last night and feeding the furries late meant that I got to sleep “late” until 7:00 am!

As with almost every Saturday morning, I call my mom and we chat for upwards of 30 minutes … just catching up on the past week and outlining the coming weekend.

Aside from basic errands and way-over-due chores, I haven’t any plans this weekend. I grabbed an Evo car (car share) and headed out to Walmart in North Vancouver to pick up a shit-ton of basics … toilet paper, paper towel, baking stuff …

And the weather was nice but foggy! I managed to snap this shot just before heading over the Lions Gate Bridge:

120316

After grabbing what I needed at Walmart, I also had to stop quickly in Save-On-Foods as Walmart was out of molasses. Then I was heading back home to get on with some baking.

After unloading the car and unpacking the groceries, I realized I still needed to hit up the vet office to pick up food and meds for the furries … so back on with the shoes and out the door!

At the vet I chatted with my cat sitter and set up a time for her to come over before I head away for a couple of days. After the vet, I decided I should grab a few “necessities” from the liquor store!

After which I realized I now needed to go to Safeway to pick up some mix … so after dropping the furries stuff and liquor off at home, I was back out the door for one last errand!

Finally home and I am ready to make 2 Christmas cookies recipes … first off is the Fluffy 1-Bowl Sugar Cookies from the website of Minimalist Baker.

But the cookie dough didn’t turn out quite right … I did use non-vegan ingredients, but they were listed as options below the original recipe. The dough was just a bit dry, and I even doubled the milk (to 2 TBSP) … so I might try this one again next weekend and increase the milk to see how that helps.

I was able to get it rolled, cut and baked … but they just aren’t delicious – the are good, but not great … and I’m planning on bringing these to my work team’s social in about 1 1/2 weeks. So another round is needed.

Advent Calendar Day 3: Genmaicha

day-3-genmaicha-2

“Some people call Genmaicha “popcorn tea” because it contains whole roasted grains of brown rice, some of which have popped. Others call it the Rice Krispie of green teas. Either way, genmaicha was originally drunk by poor Japanese who used the rice as a filler because they couldn’t afford enough tea leaves. It soon became all the rage. Today, everyone is addicted to its sweet, roasted rice flavour.”

day-3-genmaicha

After reading DAVIDsTEA description of this tea, it makes sense … I taste brown rice … like a rice cake. This is NOT a favorite and not exceptionally desired by my taste buds. Bleh!

day-3-genmaicha-1

It’s still way early at just 3:36 pm,  but I have no plans this evening … maybe I’ll get a bout of energy and get some of this placed tidied up. Maybe I’ll watch a movie.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

