Blogmas – Day 5

BLOGMAS – DAY 5

120516

Welcome to Monday and December!

Now, for those of you who may not know, I live in Canada. And while the most of the rest of Canada experiences snow in the winter, this is the first time in almost 3 years that Mother Nature has provided actual snow! This picture is a bit dark, but I found it fitting that we have palm trees (imported!) covered in snow!

I left the house around 7:30 am to walk the 30 minutes to work, and about a block into my walk, I realized I forgot my scarf. And instead of going home to get it, I decided to just take the bus.

So I went to the bus stop and proceeded to wait upwards of 45+ minutes for a bus! There were about 10 short transit buses pass the stop with the “sorry  – bus full” sign on, but I was waiting for the regular-sized transit bus … and NONE CAME during the whole time I was waiting!

By this time it was time for work to start, so I was late … and looking down the block to where the bus comes from, there were no regular-sized buses in sight. So I was back to walking to work … argh!

30 minutes later I arrived at work. And the snow kept coming … on and off all day, but some times it seemed like it was typical Canada – blizzarding!

It’s supposed to snow a bit more tonight, but then it’s supposed to get cold here for the next couple of days. And cold is around -1 to +1 Celsius as a daytime high. While that may not be as cold as the -30 northern BC gets, it is cold for Vancouver because we are the warmest city in Canada. Average highs for this time of year is about +5.

Work was good – went fast enough. Dinner was a tough decision … I want to make the Soba Noodle dishes for my next Recipe Taste Test, but I still need a few ingredients and forgot to get them this weekend. I ended up pulling some frozen tortellini and mixing it with alfredo and pesto, along with a bit of goat cheese – delicious!

Now I’m catching up on some Criminal Minds and about to sip my Tea Advent Calendar day 5 …

Advent Calendar Day 5: Coffee Cake

day-5-coffee-cake-2

“There’s nothing more nostalgic than a classic coffee cake. Just picture it. That dense, yellow cake, dotted with fruit and topped with crumbled brown sugar. And this sweet, fragrant black tea blend is every bit as satisfying. It has all the aroma of a fresh baked coffee cake, plus an energy boost from rich black tea and a fruity hint of cherry and pineapple. Now getting that fresh-from-the-bakery taste is so simple, it’s a piece of cake.”

day-5-coffee-cake

This tea smells & tastes very similar to DAVIDsTEA “Birthday Cake“. I don’t taste cherry or pineapple, but it does taste a bit like cake. We’ll see just how “medium caffeine” this tea actually is … caffeine doesn’t usually affect me like it does most people – I tend to sleep easily after having caffeine.

day-5-coffee-cake-1

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

