Blogmas – Day 6

BLOGMAS – DAY 6

The morning started quite nice … it was colder than normal and I was planning on taking the bus to work as I was bringing with me about 10 -15 books to see if co-workers want to buy them for a $2 donation each for the Vancouver Food Bank. Luckily, compared to yesterday, the buses were actually running!

I got to work around 8:20 am to start at 8:30 am and was cheerfully told that I was invited (should attend) a staffing meeting which starts at 8:30 am. And no problem … until I remembered that it was booked for 3 hours! Oh well – it’s my job … so there went my morning! And not only did it go for the 3 hours, but it went for 4 1/2 hours, plus I spent most of my afternoon outlining the staffing changes (who works on what files) for the managers to be in the know.

So the work day went rather quickly. I had planned on having a shake for lunch, but opted for the Holy Moley dish from the Mexican food truck outside our office.120616

They asked me how spicy I wanted it and I replied with “more than medium but less than maximum” and it was spicy just right! Damn – this was really good!!

I have been taking the bus home on most nights for the past couple of months, but tonight it was dry and I wanted to check out the 2017 Happy Planners at Michael’s as they were on sale for 50% off, today only. I was thinking that it would be nice to find a planner or nice notebook with graph paper so that I could explore using a Bullet Journal and thought using graph paper would allow my designs to remain straight.

But I couldn’t find what I was looking for … not at Michael’s. I’ll keep looking elsewhere. In the meantime, I did pick up a mini 2017 Happy Planner with the intention of using it for meal planning because I would like to utilize the cookbooks I have on hand and the awesome kitchen skills I know I possess! Cooking soothes my soul and having grown up with a chef as a parent, it helps inspire me.

This evening I’ve been plugging away at a bit of bookkeeping for a client, while watching a bit of “don’t need to pay attention” shows.

Advent Calendar Day 6: Apple Cider

day-6-apple-cider-2

“As soon as the snowflakes start to fall, all we can think about is curling up with a hot cup of old-fashioned apple cider – the fresh, unfiltered apple juice you can only seem to find when the cold weather sets in. And we captured the taste of our favourite seasonal drink in this apple-packed blend. With a sweet, clean apple taste and a hint of creaminess, it’s like a warm and comforting hug in a cup. The only thing missing is the cinnamon stick.”

day-6-apple-cider

I’m not 100% a fan of apple cider as I find it a bit too sweet (although I LOVE [alcoholic] cider!) and this tea has the exact smell of apple cider. But the taste … the taste is much more muted! It’s not so muted that you can’t taste it, but it’s not as sweet as its smell suggests it would be. Quite a nice tea for this evening.

day-6-apple-cider-1

Oh and tonight I ended up giving my eldest cat, Waszabi (16 1/2 years old) a bath. I used to bathe her quite often as a kitten and young cat, but she’s been relatively good with grooming and keeping herself clean. But I have found she smells lately … like a dirty cat … a bit like urine … and tonight she STUNK! Now, I am sure it’s because of her age and being more frail, but she’s still such a kitten. But she needed a bath … and now she “hates” me. I want to wrap her up in a blanket because she’s a bit shivery and I don’t want her to catch any colds!!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

