Luxurious Tomato Basil Pasta

Today I did my very first Facebook Live! I was a bit nervous, but when you’re talking about a subject that you’re passionate about, it just comes easy!

The FB Live was me preparing a recipe … Luxurious Tomato Basil Pasta from the Oh She Glows Cookbook by Angela Liddon!

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened, unflavored almond milk (I used cashew milk)
  • 9 oz uncooked pasta (I used Fusilli)
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 cups diced tomatoes, drained
  • 3 handfuls spinach
  • 3 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 cup fresh basil, finely chopped
  • 3 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

IMG_7974

Directions:

  1. Soak cashews for minimum 2 hours, then drain and rinse. Add cashews and milk to blender and blend until smooth
  2. Cook pasta, according to instructions, to al dente
  3. In large skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and saute until translucent.
  4. Add tomatoes and spinach and cook until spinach is wilted
  5. Stir in cashew cream through pepper and cook until heated through
  6. Add pasta to skillet and mix
  7. Enjoy!

IMG_7979

IMG_7981

Tip: if at any point the sauce or pasta dries out, stir in a splash of almond/cashew milk (I anticipate this for the leftovers).

After a quick taste, I have to say … this is one delicious dish! I can’t wait for lunch tomorrow and Tuesday! Will absolutely be adding this recipe to my collection of go-to’s!

IMG_7980

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Luxurious Tomato Basil Pasta

  1. Niteshkumar says:

    That looks mouthwatering.

Leave a comment